Musing Monday on a Tuesday

Ok I know that doesn’t make sense but, remember, I am writing this from the future, well ok not really the future but New Zealand is the first to see the new day so Tuesday to us is Monday night to you in the Northern parts of the world.

Anyway all that aside, Musing Monday is brought to you by the lovely people at Purple Booker, a fab book blog I have just started following and its a really cool idea so of course I had to follow it, even if it means its Musing Tuesday which really doesn’t sound nearly as cool. Basically you pick one of the questions below and write about it, also there is a random weekly question you can write about also.

 

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEKS RANDOM QUESTION: Do you try out genres you have not liked in the past once in a while just to see if your taste changed?

So I am going to pick Up next I think I’ll read…mainly because I finished my latest book today, The Harvesting: Book 1 by Melanie Karsak which I will be reviewing later in the week. So tonight I will be reading, newly downloaded from Net Galley , Moon Chosen by PC Cast.  I have read most of the House of Night series but that was a while back. I want to say I really enjoyed it but I can’t really remember. I do remember hunting my local library for more of her books in my pre-kindle days, which means it was over four years ago, btw my local library didn’t have them because, they suck! lol, just kidding I love libraries even if I don’t tend to read paper books that much any more, its the smell, know what I mean? But I do like the way PC Cast writes, that much I do remember so this will be interesting. I have no clue what its about but if its fantasy its got my name written all over it.

I have had a pretty steady diet of zombie novels lately so its time to bust out (though I will admit to binge reading the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Meads while I was sick last week, can’t help myself Dimitri is like my dream book boyfriend, well if he was like 20 years older because panting over someone the same age as your son…yeah that’s just not right.) Ok distracted…again, blame the meds and move on.

Next question please – Do you try out genres you have not liked in the past once in a while just to see if your taste changed?

I do do this, not often but occasional I will read something out of my bookiverse but in most cases I crash and burn before I get halfway through. I recently got a romance sent to me to pre-read before it was released and honestly, the book was well written but romances bore the hell out of me (Unless they involve tall sexy hot dhampir Russians that can kick ass lol) I am fussy about what I read, if it isn’t well written then it will go into my throw away pile pretty quick, no matter the genre.  I don’t like chick lit at all, I do enjoy the occasional mystery or literary classic but mostly I prefer my reading list populated with books oozing blood. I was going through my kindle the other day and realized that my reading list had got very dark indeed so I went and found some YA to lighten it up a bit, not a lot but more dark grey than black now lol

.

Anyway loves that’s it for me tonight, I am still getting over the major health meltdown I had over the weekend and need an early night. I will be posting a review later this week but in the meantime happy reading, and don’t forget to let me know you’re thoughts. Tell me your favorite genre, what’s in your bookiverse?

Leave a Reply

