All That Remains–Al Barrera

 

All That RemainsAl Barrera

The old world is dead, and humanity struggles to survive in the shadows of the new one. Kyle, Sara, and Tim are scavengers, hiding in the remains of human civilization from the hungry things that destroyed it. Living on the few items that haven’t rotted in the thirteen years since civilization was wiped out.
But something has shown itself: A terrible creature that betrays an intelligence in the madness of the creatures that rule the planet.
When the group finds Kaylee, a little girl who claims to know of a safe haven somewhere in Tennessee, they embark on a desperate journey to find it. Memory and loss, depravity and salvation— their last run will put them face to face with horrors of both man and monsters the likes of which they’ve never seen. (taken from
Goodreads.com).

My Thoughts

It just starts, no chance to catch your breath or find out what is going on, no back story of how the end came about, All That Remains just hits the ground running and demands that you keep up. Some of the backstory comes in dribs and drabs throughout the book, in between running from monsters, avoiding death, protecting each other, and saving little girls, but there is still a lot more needed for a full understanding of what has happened to the world.

The end of humanity is a scary place to be and the author does nothing to soften the fear. He has written his characters very well, given them personalities that are realistic and believable. The landscape they lived in was also well written, 13 years after the fall of man it is easy to imagine buildings falling into disrepair and nature coming back to claim the world once more. Though with the monsters there came more, some kind of terraforming that was never really explained. As with the monsters, some where described but most where left up to the readers imagination.

It’s all the unanswered questions that stopped me enjoying the book as much as I would have if I had of known the backstory completely. It may just be me, but I like to know where things start, otherwise I feel like I have missed something. I did try and find a book one that I may have missed but there doesn’t seem to be one. I got the book from Net Galley and it is the first time I have read a book from there so maybe this is an incomplete version.

For all the questions I have, I did really enjoy the storyline and the well written characters and how they grow during the narrative. There was a lot to keep a reader going in the story. There is suspense and enough fear and excitement to make it worthwhile reading but I still am left with a feeling of a book incomplete.

Check it out yourself and let me know your thoughts. Happy reading

5/10

Leave a Reply

