Busy May Fly

Ok maybe not a mayfly but I have been busy the last few weeks. Between making my son a album/sketchbook for his birthday next month (watch for photos of that soon) and helping look after Dad who has a badly damaged knee and is stuck in a wheelchair while waiting to get a knee reconstruction (men make the worst patients!) Not to mention being laid up myself with various RA and Fibro issues, it has been a busy few weeks but I have still managed to get a few layouts done for this months challenges.

I have three to share today, 2 for Artfull Crafts and  1 for D’lish Scraps. I played with allsorts of techniques for these, for the first, using the D’lish Scrap mood board I kept it pretty simple, lots of clean lines and simple embellishments. I just went with the softer colours of the mood board and tried my best to make it my own.

IMG_2561

I felt it was more important to tell the story of this photo of my Dad and my Daughter, this is all about one of their wee traditions. I used Rosie’s Studios shimmer cardstock in cream, Amy Tangerine Stitched paper, plain black cardstock, one handmade flower with a Kaisercraft Sparklet in the middle, some Prima flowers, mulberry roses, Studio Calico wood veener coloured with distress ink, Freckled Fawn veener and some flatback pearls to finish it off.

This next one was done using the sketch at Artfull Crafts and using two of the very few photos I have of Katie playing sport. Unfortunately she inherited my talent for sports off all kinds, another words non existent. But she did manage a full game of Netball on her first try last year which is more than I ever managed. In fact I think my coach’s words where along the lines of “Vicky please put down that ball and go sit down before you hurt someone else” lol. When I asked Katie if she wanted to play this year she just laughed at me. Oh well, we can’t all be good at everything and she is so talented in so many other ways.

This is the sketch.

 

And this is my take on it

IMG_2564

I used the Kaisercraft Game On collection I won from Artfull Crafts last year. I cut the netball one into bits to use as the layers and used the soccer one as the background. I also used some of the netball stickers from the same collection, a feather cut from corrugated cardboard to much her top, 2 Heidi Swapp resist stars with Spun Sugar distress ink on it. I took the Netball title sticker from the sheet and coloured it silver sharpie and covered the netballer and netball stickers with Rock Candy Distress Crackle paint. I really love the quote that was with the stickers “whether you think you can or can’t, your right- Henry Ford” so true.

and now my final layout, which I just finished using the sketchabilities sketch for this fortnight and Artfull Crafts colour palate for this month.

And this is my mashup of the two featuring my wee princess, granddaughter Lily

IMG_2569

I started with paper from Maggie Holmes, added some Stampin Up water colour pencils I just got, and LOVE, in yellow and dark pink. Add in a script stamp from Couture Creations in gold and black.Then I cut out some doodle circles with my silhouette and used ink in pink and yellow, clear and gold embossing powders to change the colour a bit. then layered on gold Craft Smith cardstock cut to make a banner, a scrap yellow paper from my scrap paper bin, 2 tags and a ticket from my stash, a gold stripped polaroid frame from Rosie’s Studio and some diecuts from Rosie’s Studio. The title was done using wood veneer words by Rosie’s Studio that I coloured with ink and clear embossing powder, a bling word from Kaisercraft and a diecut from Rosie’s Studio. To finish off I used twine, 2 Prima wood veneer pieces, and some resin pieces from my stash (I have far too many of these things but they are just to cute to leave on the shelf)

And that’s me for now. I have just over a month before I start my course so I will be making the most of it while I can because I can’t see me getting much time to scrap or anything else once I start. So wish me luck with these challenge entries and I will post some photos of the book I am working on for my son as soon as I finish the covers, the outsides are done but I haven’t touched the inside yet.

take care one and all

hugz

V xxx

7 thoughts on “Busy May Fly

Leave a Reply

