Sketchabilities challenge

I love the sketches at sketchabilities, I’ve gone there for inspiration more than once but never entered one of their challenges so this time I thought I would get brave and actually enter one of my layouts this time. I actually did two layouts with this sketch so will share them both but was only going to enter one but then I reread the rules and found that you can enter more than once. in for a penny in for a pound right?

First up is the one I did with this photo of my handsome son Steve. This photo was actually taken last year but my then 8 year old daughter. She has a real natural eye for photography. I used Maggie Holmes Open Book pp, some Amy Tan pp from the Cut and Paste line. Rosie’s Studio journaling card and wood veneer word (amazing) which I covered with white ink, a studio calico wood veneer typewriter, also covered with white ink, Tanya Leigh Designz chipboard arrows also covered with white ink. handmade wire word (be) and its finished off with washi tape, kraft tape, sequins, Studio Calico rubon stars,  a paperclip, a watch charm and a quick spray of Mr Huey’s.

IMG_2496

unfortunately when I took the photo of this layout there was a bit to much light and it came out a lot lighter than it actually is. I just love the Maggie Holmes bulls eye paper, sort of suits Steve and his many goals in life, as do the arrows.

Ok on to layout two, which oddly enough I did first but wasn’t sure if it was good enough for the challenge. I started with black chalk cardstock from DCWV, then I took the last piece of Tim Holtz grunge paper that has been in my stash forever, I sprayed it with Heidi Swap gold colour spray, inked it, ran it through my Cuttlebug with an embossing folder the just generally beat it up some more. The rest of the papers all come from the Rosie’ Studio Into the Woods line (and I can’t help singing the theme song from the movie Into the Words in my head every time I use the line lol) Also used was a snappy polaroid frame from Rosie’s Studio, diecuts from the Into the Woods line, that fox is super cute and gold words from the same line. Its finished off with some flatback pearls, 2 tags, a butterfly cut from a aluminium coke can and dry embossed then  covered with Ranger alcohol ink and finally a few flicks of Heidi Swapp gold spray which I let dribble down the page

IMG_2454

So that’s it for now. I have a few more layouts I want to share but will leave it for another day. Let  me know what you think. Thanks for popping by.

hugz

V xxx

3 thoughts on “Sketchabilities challenge

  1. Marina Gridasova says:

    beautiful details on both layouts! great work! thank you for playing along with us at Sketchabilities!

Leave a Reply

