Sharing is caring :)

Hi there, hope your well and happy on this lovely, almost spring, day. I have been a bit busy lately, churning out cards for my great nieces birthdays, not just cards from me but two for Mum as well, I keep saying I am not a card maker but no-one believes me anymore lol. But i have not only been doing cards. I have managed a few layouts this month, not that many but a few to share today.

This first one is called “My Happy Place” and is for the CSI challenge number 136 and this is the brief.

I just love the colours we have to work with and the idea of scrapbooking about something I enjoy. Here is my entry

IMG_1797

I had some much fun with this one, I made a wee book and added the mulberry flowers and leaves into the middle and topped it off with a wee veneer frame from Kaisercraft, I used paper from the Ruby Rock-it kit called Nostalgia, black cardstock, cream pearlised cardstock from Rosie’s Studio, for the photo mat I used a 6×6 from Dear Lizzy’s Day Dreamer collection backed with black cardstock. I used my Silhouette to cut the girl leaning on a pile of books diecut, a Studio Calico veneer typewriter, a black heart seal that I picked up at K-Mart, the letters are old Heidi Swapp ones and some DIY Thickers sprayed with Mr Huey’s Clover. I searched the internet to find the right definitions for the journaling and finally I punched out some small butterflies and diecut the larger ones using my new Memory Box die (its my new favourite at the moment)and inked them using Tim Holtz distress mini inks.

I do have one confession to share, this is the first layout I have every done that I have designed the layout completely before even taking the photo lol. It just fell together so nicely that I had to fit the photo to the layout instead of the other way around.

My next share is a layout done using the sketch from Artfull Crafts, this was a bit more of a challenge than the last one as the sketch gives you such a narrow space to use as you can see below. 

But in saying that, it did give me a chance to use up some scraps, of which I have drawers full of. I used a piece of white cardstock from Rosie’s Studio, some old Lost and Found paper from My Minds Eye as well as some scraps of papers from the depth of my stash. I matted the photos using the DCWV Serenity matstack, diecut some more butterflies as well as a few feathers, added a wood veneer piece from Dear Lizzy, a chipboard title, which I used ink and embossing powder to give it some texture and shine, I love the wee monkey. I used a journaling card from my stash, a paperclip from Making Memories and a wee resin butterfly cameo to finish it off.

IMG_1799

Its not a very clear photo of the layout but I just love these pic’s of Katie and my Dad up in a tree in our back yard planning Katie’s soon to be tree house. Dad wouldn’t agree to build it until Katie proved that she was scared of heights. She wasn’t scared but I was terrified she would fall out lol.

Now for the last challenge layout. Also for Artfull Crafts, this one is for the themed challenge which is Colour and Costume. I decided to concentrate on the costume part as the colours didn’t really suit the photo which was taken a couple of years ago when Katie’s school got to take part in Nelson’s Masked Parade and her class were dressed as native birds in costumes they got to make themselves.

IMG_1802

I used kraft cardstock which I used a stencil, I made it using my Silhouette, and some gesso to give it some texture, I sprayed it with a variety of Mr Huey’s to add colour. I added layers using DCWV paper, washi tape, paper lace tape, a Heidi Swapp journaling tag, Amy Tan Cut and Paste paper and black cardstock. I then dug deep into my sticker and rub on stash and came out with some old Love Elsie stickers and rub on’s. I added some diecut feathers and mulberry flowers to die it all together, cut the title using my Silhouette, added some punched hearts on pop dots and a small journaling tag between the flowers and I was done and I can stop feeling guilt every time I come across this photo because its not in Katie’s scrapbook where it belongs lol.

So that’s enough sharing for now. Please feel free to leave a comment, I love to get feedback on my layouts. And thanks for stopping by.

hugz

V xxx

3 thoughts on “Sharing is caring :)

Leave a Reply

