Pike River

I’ve barely moved from the tv all day, a waiting news from Pike River. Being an ex coastie I know more than one person missing. Years ago I used to date Russell Smiths brother who was also a miner, though I believe he is a truckie now.

My brother worked at Strongman mine for about 7 years before moving to Australia in 2002 where he still works as a miner, but he has a management role now.

Greymouth is such a small community, everyone knows someone or is related to someone who works in the mines. I can imagine the mood in Greymouth today, imagine just how still it would be, like holding its breath waiting. My brother in law used to be part of mines rescue when he was working in the mines in the 90’s and I can just imagine their frustration, wanting to get in there and bring those guys out.

So as you go about your weekend, spare a thought for those 29 men and their families. I cant imagine what they are going through right now.ugz

hugz

V xxx

2 thoughts on “Pike River

Leave a Reply

